Fibonacci Rondo, Op. 54

G. Stolyarov II
Issue CLXV - June 29, 2008
Recommend this page.

A sample image

Fibonacci Rondo, Op. 54: Listen and Download.

The Fibonacci Rondo was inspired by the Fibonacci Sequence of numbers, where each subsequent number is the sum of the two previous numbers. If the Fibonacci Sequence begins with 1 and 1, then the first six numbers of the sequence are 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, and 8.

The recurring theme of this composition – which occurs once at 0:32 and again at 1:30 represents musically the beginning of the Fibonacci Sequence and the process of its formation.

If we assign the value 1 to the note C, then we can assign the following values to other notes in relation to it:

2 = D

3 = E

5 = G

8 = C one octave above the “1” note.

Then, through two eighth notes, we can represent the numbers being added, while the following quarter note represents their result.

So two eighth-note C’s will be followed by a quarter-note D to represent “1 + 1 = 2.”

Then the eighth notes C and D, followed by a quarter-note E represent “1 + 2 = 3.”

Then the eighth notes D and E, followed by a quarter-note G represent “2 + 3 = 5.”

Then the eighth notes E and G, followed by a quarter-note C from the next octave represent “3 + 5 = 8.”

Thereafter, the same pattern is applied to other harmonies – both major and minor – to ensure a melodic progression.

The timpani accompaniment in the second appearance of the theme relates this basic structure without any other notes added to reinforce the harmony. Quite a bit of harmonic reinforcement is added in the parts for all the other instruments, however.

This composition is written for a piano, two string sections, and timpani. It probably could not be played by a human orchestra, as the 32nd notes in one of the string sections are simply too fast to be played by human musicians. The ability to reproduce music of this sort is yet another way in which computers have expanded the range of human creativity.

Length: 1:54.

URL for download:

Recommend this page.

This TRA feature has been edited in accordance with TRA's Statement of Policy.

Click here to return to TRA's Issue CLXV Index.

Learn about Mr. Stolyarov's novel, Eden against the Colossus, here.

Read Mr. Stolyarov's comprehensive treatise, A Rational Cosmology, explicating such terms as the universe, matter, space, time, sound, light, life, consciousness, and volition, here.

Read Mr. Stolyarov's four-act play, Implied Consent, a futuristic intellectual drama on the sanctity of human life, here.